Opinion Dialogs

From Wikimedia Usability Initiative
Jump to: navigation, search

Insert table dialog

Ideas for tabledialog.pdf

Please visit Sandbox3 to test the dialogs.

We are not sure about the preview

  • Because it does not reflect the table dimensions
  • It reflects tableborder, sortable table amd header row only
  • People might want to edit this preview-table, which is not possible. Therefor the preview should be named "Example" and should look not editable. (See mockup #1 - #2)
  • Maybe it is a wiser decision not to show this preview/example at all. (See mockup #4)

Comments

  • I think you should use what's on page three. That one is the best. --Mephiles602 16:47, 7 December 2009 (UTC)
  • I like the modal windows the best--Poindexterc 9 December 2009 (UTC)
  • I like the second mockup the best. I really don't like the overly "Web 2.0" look of the dialogs. Why not make them a bit more subtle like the rest of the Vector style? --Cmelbye 02:23, 10 January 2010 (UTC)
  • }-[ extrem bad concept! unusabl. you'll never need for one singl change. and never or seldom for changing each. but under the dark gry mask none of us can see, what happens, where is something found, and so none of us can decide, if change or not. kill the mask, might be, then we can test. Skipper Michael, pfl.wp, --82.113.121.248 19:40, 9 December 2010 (UTC)

Table editor

Cross-posted from Talk:Prototype#New_table_editor
I propose a table editor like this: (forgive my bad graphic skills and the misaligned arrows)
Tableedit.png

It will allow user to edit the table on one side through text boxes or textareas(I would prefer these), with the ability to add/delete rows and columns . There will be a preview which can be updated via a button.
The only problem (and its a trivial one) I forsee with this suggestion is that the text boxes are too small. This could be fixed by:

  • Using scrollable textareas
  • Using textboxes which expand when clicked
    To see what I mean, try out this HTML code
<input type=text onfocus="this.size=this.value.length+5" onblur="this.size=5" value="click to expand..." size=5/>
If you don't want to test the source, type this in your browser address bar: javascript:window.open("about:blank").document.write('<input type=text onfocus="this.size=this.value.length+5" onblur="this.size=5" value="click to expand..." size=5/>');
A floating effect can be done by using absolute positioning with a greater z-index for the textbox, so that the rest of the table doesn't get stretched when the textbox expands
  • Making the editing table bigger

See the file on commons for more information (I've annotated it).
Please tell me what you think and the feasibility of this. Thx, 59.183.163.183 02:12, 27 March 2010 (UTC)

You should probably also read the comments at Bugzilla Bug 2194 ( [1] I don't know how to make links to bugzilla, sorry) regarding table editors and the like. 88.107.46.47 00:13, 4 June 2010 (UTC)

Regex search-and-destroyreplace

I think we should allow regex not only in find string, but in replace string, too. I mean a string '{{dummy}}' with find string {{([a-z]+)}} should be replaced to 'template dummy' with a replace string template $1. I don't know, it could be already realized, although I still don't know. Wizardist 11:04, 22 April 2010 (UTC)

Optimize citation text fields

I really like have the citation tool in the native Wiki environment. I think the date a work was published is a very important and common field, and should be included alongside the accessdate field rather than in the expanded view. I also think the accessdate field should be pre-loaded with today's date, rather than make me have to click an icon. Without the icon, we could probably get rid of the empty line. We should also explain or link to explanation of preferred date formats. Also, showing the preview should automatically show bot the wikitext and parsed text with one click. Lastly, what is that asterisk doing by the Work* field? HereToHelp (talk) 23:46, 14 May 2010 (UTC)

Make dialogs modeless

I think they would be more convenient to use if I could do anything when they're displayed, like changing the position of the cursor, writing something in the main text area and so on. Currenty, I need to close the window losing everything in it. Lampak 12:28, 24 June 2010 (UTC)